Bibb Falk
Bibb Falk
Organization: University of Texas
Year: 1968 Inductee

In 25 seasons as head coach, Bibb Falk led the University of Texas Longhorns to their first two National Championships (1949 and 1950), 20 Southwest Conference titles (nine of which were consecutive) and a 478-176 (.730) overall record.

Falk's Longhorns were a fixture in the NCAA playoffs, which began in 1947. Of his 16 teams that qualified for the playoffs, 10 reached the College World Series. Under his tutelage in 1949 and 1950, Texas became the first school to win consecutive national championships. His 1953 team was runner-up in the tournament, and his 1947, 1962 and 1963 teams finished third. At the age of 68, after 25 seasons and 20 championships, Falk retired following the 1967 season.

National and regional honors celebrated Falk's achievements. He was elected to the Longhorn Hall of Honor in 1962, the Helms Athletic Foundation College Hall of Fame in 1966, the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame in 1988 and the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007.

In 1975, the University named its new baseball stadium Disch-Falk Field in honor of the two men who together represented 54 years of Texas Longhorn baseball.