L.C. "Cap" Timm
L.C. "Cap" Timm
Organization: Iowa State University
Year: 1974 Inductee

L.C. "Cap" Timm headed the Iowa State Cyclone baseball program from 1938-74, with the exception of four years while he served in the military. Timm tallied 340 career wins, leading the Cyclones to three conference titles.

Timm's 1957 team captured the Big Seven title and advanced to the College World Series for the first time Iowa State history. Two of Timm's players from the 1957 team, Dick Bertell and Jerry McNertney, would later play in the Major Leagues.

Timm led his team back to the World Series in 1970 with a squad that featured All-American catcher Larry Corrigan. The 1970 Cyclones captured the conference title with a 13-5 league mark. Timm's Cyclones repeated with another Big Eight crown in 1971.

The 1970 ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award winner, Timm served as president of the ABCA in 1958.