Duane Banks
Duane Banks
Organization: University of Iowa
Year: 1992 Inductee

Duane Banks was named head coach of the Iowa Hawkeyes baseball team halfway through the 1970 season, a position he held until he retired following the 1997 season. Banks posted a career record of 810-575-4 (.583) as Iowa's head coach, while coaching six All-Americans, 31 All-Big Ten selections, 33 Academic All-Americans and 57 players who signed professional contracts.

Banks, a member of the ABCA's Board of Directors, led the Hawkeyes to their only College World Series appearance in 1972. Iowa won Big Ten championships in 1972 and 1990, as well as a share of the Big Ten crown in 1974.

In 1981, Banks led Iowa to 44 wins, the most in school history. He earned Big Ten Conference and District Coach of the Year honors in 1990.

In 1985, Banks served as manager of Team USA at the Intercontinental Cup.

Banks, who as of 2016 was still the all-time winningest coach in Iowa history, was inducted into the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame in 2011 and the Northern Colorado Hall of Fame in 1999.

In the fall of 2001, Iowa's home field was officially named Duane Banks Field.

Banks, the 1989 President of the ABCA, is also a member of the ABCA Hall of Fame Committee.