Dr. Jim Brock
Dr. Jim Brock
Organization: Arizona State University
Year: 1998 Inductee

Arizona State's second of only three varsity baseball coaches in the history of the program, Dr. Jim Brock led the Sun Devils to a pair of national championships in 1977 and 1981 and recorded a 1,100-440 (.714) record during his 23 years at the helm of the Sun Devils. He led ASU to 13 College World Series appearances.

Brock was named the 1977 and 1981 NCAA Coach of the Year. Additionally, Brock was a five-time winner of the Pac-10 Coach of the Year award (1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1993).

Brock, who earned three degrees from Arizona State, including a bachelor, master's and doctorate, coached many Sun Devil legends, including first-round draft picks Eddie Bane, Floyd Bannister, Bob Horner, Hubie Brooks, Oddibe McDowell, Barry Bonds and Mike Kelly. All three of ASU's Golden Spikes Award winners (Horner, McDowell, Kelly) also played under Brock.

Brock's number 33 is retired at Arizona State, and the baseball facility, Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark, was named in honor of the late Dr. Brock in 2006. He was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007.