John Schwartz
John Schwartz
Organization: Moore High School (OK)
Year: 2003 Inductee

John Schwartz's association with Oklahoma High School Baseball covers over a span of 50 years. In 1967 he was selected as the first Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Association president, serving a term of three years, and spent over 40 years as the organization's executive secretary.

Schwartz began his coaching career in 1950 at Freedom High School as football and baseball coach. He later coached at Boise City, Garber, Edmond, Northwest Classen and his last 22 years were at Moore High School.

For 19 years as a head football coach, his teams won 106 games against 85 losses. Schwartz also coached American Legion Baseball for 11 years winning 437 games. His high school baseball teams had two separate seasons of consecutive winning streaks of 33 and 35 games without a defeat and a total of 54 consecutive wins without a loss following the 35-0 season in 1960.

Honors over Schwartz's 37-year career include two state championships, two runner-up titles and 16 conference championships. He also coached 31 Oklahoma All-State Players, three of which were selected as the Oklahoma High School "Players of the Year". His teams still hold three national high school baseball records and 17 Oklahoma high school state baseball records. His 1971 Moore team was 50-11 for the season, a state record.

Schwartz's overall high school baseball career record includes 858 wins, while losing only 211 times. During his tenure, he was selected as Oklahoma Coach of the Year five times. In 1971 the Professional Scouts of America selected him as their Coach of the Year. In 1993 Schwartz served as President of the National High School Baseball Coaches Association. In 1974 he was honored as the National High School Baseball Coach of the Year.

Schwartz has been inducted into six other Halls of Fame: National High School Division in Cooperstown, NY (1974), Oklahoma Coaches Hall of Fame (1978), National (F.I.C.A.) (1985), Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame (1999), Hennessey High School (Alma Mater) Hall of Fame (2003) and National High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame (2007). In 2006 he received the Babe Ruth/Lou Gehrig Founders Award for his part in forming the Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Association in 1967.