Ron Polk
Ron Polk
Organization: Mississippi State University
Year: 1988

Legendary Mississippi State baseball coach Ron Polk was the recipient of the 1988 ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.

The winningest coach in any sport in the history of the Southeastern Conference, Polk enters his seventh season as UAB's volunteer assistant coach in 2016. Polk came to UAB in the summer of 2008 after announcing his retirement from the Mississippi State program.

A veteran of postseason play, Polk helped the Blazers advance to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1991 in 2012. The Blazers made the NCAA Regional in Tallahassee, Fla., hosted by Florida State, by capturing the Conference USA Tournament Championship to receive an automatic bid.

The 1986 President of the ABCA, Polk was inducted into the ABCA Hall of Fame in 1995. In July 2009, he was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Polk retired from Mississippi State in 2008, following his 29th season at the school. Entering 2016, he ranks ninth all-time in NCAA Div. I career head coaching victories.

Polk concluded his 35-year career as a head coach with a career record of 1,373-700-2 (.662). In his career, which also included stints at Georgia Southern (1972-75) and Georgia (2000-01), Polk led his teams to a total of eight College World Series appearances, five SEC championships, and 23 Regional appearances. He is one of only three coaches in college baseball history to take three different programs to the College World Series.

Polk mentored current UAB head coach Brian Shoop when the Blazer skipper was on his staff at Mississippi State from 1983-89. The Bulldogs won three SEC championships and made one trip to the College World Series during that time.

At Mississippi State, Polk recruited and coached some of the game's all-time greats, including Major League standouts Jeff Brantley, Will Clark, Rafael Palmeiro, Bobby Thigpen, and Jonathan Papelbon. Those are just a few of the 185 of his former players that have signed professional contracts and a few of the 23 that have played in the Major Leagues.

A three-time National Coach of the Year, Polk held the position of Assistant Athletics Director for Special Projects at Mississippi State following his team's College World Series run in 1997. While in that position, Polk spearheaded a successful campaign to expand Polk-DeMent Stadium in Starkville. He returned to coaching at Georgia in 2000, where he spent two years before making the move back to Mississippi State for his final seven seasons.

Perhaps Polk's most talented Mississippi State squad ever was the 1985 version. That club finished the year 50-15 and was SEC champion before going on to appear in the College World Series. The 1985 Bulldog club featured future major league stars Brantley, Clark, Palmeiro, and Thigpen.

In his 35 years as a college baseball coach, Polk produced 35 All-Americans and more than 75 All-SEC performers.

In addition to Polk's work in the collegiate ranks, the Boston, Mass., native has completed seven tours as a member of the coaching staff for the USA National Baseball Team, twice serving as head coach. Two of the teams he coached represented the United States in the Olympics.

Polk has also impacted the college baseball world through his literary work. He has authored "The Baseball Playbook," the nation's leading college textbook for baseball, and is featured in the book, "6 Psychological Factors for Success: America's Most Successful Coaches Reveal the Path to Competitive Excellence."

Named after the great Lefty Gomez, this annual award is presented to an individual who has distinguished himself among his peers and has contributed significantly to the game of baseball locally, nationally and internationally. The Lefty Gomez Award is sponsored by Wilson Sporting Goods.